Celiac disease diet

A celiac disease diet is a gluten free diet. In fact a Celiac disease diet is a lifetime diet and it is the only way to treat Celiac disease. People who have Celiac disease suffer serious physical and emotional reactions when they eat food containing gluten.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder of the digestive tract that causes damage to the small intestines. This disease inhibits the body from absorbing nutrients. When someone has this disease their cells in their body fail to communicate properly and an immune response can be set up against your own cells.

If you are an individual who has been diagnosed with Celiac disease you should avoid certain foods that contain gluten. This includes processed foods, certain snacks, frozen French fries, cereal and condiments like mayonnaise and mustard as well as soy sauce. Always read labels and check for gluten when you purchase any foods. You may want to go to a nutritionist and have a special celiac disease diet done for you.

Other foods that contain gluten that you should avoid include:

  • Bread, pasta and breakfast cereals
  • Cookies, cakes, pastries, donuts,
  • Malt vinegar
  • Some tinned soups and sauces
  • potato chips, pretzels and similar snacks
  • mixed vegetable oil can contain wheat-germ oil
  • several types of candies
  • most ice creams
  • any food made from wheat, rye, barley or triticale
  • foods that have gluten included on the label

People who are sensitive to gluten and who are on a celiac disease diet can drink most beverages except for beer. Beer is made with malted barley or wheat and because of this it does contain gluten. Whisky also has gluten in it and should be avoided. Wine, Tequila, Vermouth, Sherry, Rum, Cider and Port do not contain gluten and are safe to drink when you are on a Celiac disease diet. Bourbon is made from wheat, corn, rye or barely has had the gluten removed when it is distilled so Bourbon is ok for someone who is on a gluten free diet to drink. Read the labels on pre-mixed drinks and liquors to check for glutinous ingredients. Fruit juices are ok to drink as well as coffee, tea, cocoa and most of the carbonated drinks that are on the market.

Foods that you CAN eat on a Celiac Disease diet are plentiful so one does not have to feel too restricted when they are on a gluten free diet. People who have Celiac disease can eat most of the same foods they were eating before they were diagnosed with this autoimmune disease. On a Celiac diet you can eat bread made from potato flour, soy flour, rice flour or bean flour. There are also a lot of pasta products on the market that do not use flours containing gluten.

A celiac disease diet is one that is naturally gluten free. The diet should include such foods as:

  • fresh eggs
  • fresh meat
  • cheese
  • butter
  • milk
  • cream
  • all fresh vegetable
  • all fresh fruits
  • nuts and seeds
  • jams and jellies
  • marmalade
  • honey
  • sugar
  • sunflower oil
  • olive oil
  • certain brands of chocolate
  • certain brands of ice cream

The conclusion of those in the medical field is that people who have Celiac disease diet and they should never eat foods that have wheat, rye, barley or oats in them and to avoid all food combinations that has these four gluten filled foods in them. The bottom line is that if you have Celiac disease you should stay on a Celiac disease diet for the rest of your life if you want to enjoy good health and vitality.

Last updated on Nov 6th, 2009 and filed under Digestive Health. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed